top of page
Search
  • Andria Gray

Untitled


In my last post I spoke a lot about the wonders of social media. Being interactive with others is an important skill to help on grow as a person. Social media is a tool that makes it much easier to interact with others, whether it be your family and friends, or just a random person from a across the world. Having this interaction can do a number of things, for example, I personally use social media to oftentimes find inspiration. Since this blog is inspired by beauty related things, you would be correct to assume that I enjoy makeup. I am always looking for new looks or new ideas to try on myself and then tailor it to fit me and my personality better.


I do not want to just sit here a praise social media while I am practically addicted to it, it does come with harmful side effects. For example, while going through puberty i ran into challenges of insecurity. Within my household, my parents would always greet me with “good morning beautiful” or “you look stunning today” even as I was just rolling out of bed. So for a while I was pretty sure of myself and had a ton of confidence. It wasn’t until I created a few social media accounts that I began to run into more and more “pretty” girls. I put pretty in quotation marks because it was society's idea of pretty. Of course this image of “pretty” changes like the seasons, but being at a young impressionable age, I thought I had to look that way in order to actually be pretty, and my parents had just been lying to me. They just left bad for me, ridiculous ideas like that would flood my head. I will make this story short, I went through a tough time feeling unsure of myself because I wasn't an exact copy of these women I would see online. Presently, I of course struggle daily with my appearance, some days I feel better than others and then some days I don’t want anyone to look at me. I remind myself that I am my own kind of beautiful, and no one is meant to look or be exactly the same and while social media put the idea in my head originally that I needed to look a certain way to be pretty, it also shows me how many different kinds of pretty their are and I fit into my own category.

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page